Election results: first count November 7, 2023

Tuesday, November 7, 2023

By Diane Hettrick

King county elections released the first results at 8:15pm on Tuesday, November 7, 2023. 20% of the ballots have been counted.

Many of the races are over - many positions with incumbents had no challengers. So let's run down the list:

√ Assessor: John Wilson - incumbent, no challenger 
√ Director of Elections: Julie Wise - incumbent, challenger's platform was that elections were tampered with
√ Judges: incumbents, no challengers
√ Port of Seattle Pos 2: Sam Cho - incumbent, no challenger
√ Port of Seattle Pos 5: Fred Fellerman, incumbent with 71% of the vote

√ Shoreline Council Pos 2: Keith Scully, incumbent, no challenger
√ Shoreline Council Pos 6: Betsy Robertson, incumbent, no challenger
- Shoreline Council Pos 4: 
  • Doris McConnell, incumbent 3,410 votes
  • Annette Ademasu, challenger 3,740 votes
Lake Forest Park has some interesting results for a first count. We'll see how it plays out over the next few days. With 24% of the ballots counted:
  • Mayor: Recently retired Deputy Mayor Tom French has a commanding lead over incumbent Jeff Johnson with 67% of the vote.
  • √  Council Pos 2: Incumbent Lorri Bodi did voters the courtesy of running a full campaign, even though she had no challengers.
  • √  Council Pos 4: This open seat has Ellyn Saunders with 2,034 votes to Nigel Keiffer's 371.
  • Council Pos 6: Paula Goode leads Stephanie Angelis by 191 votes.
Town of Woodway (Snohomish County): Three incumbent town councilmembers ran unopposed:
  • √  John Brock, James Willett, Elizabeth Mitchell
Kenmore has four city council seats on the ballot. Only one seat is open and all incumbents have challengers.
  • Pos 1: Incumbent Melanie O'Cain has 59% of the vote against challenger Kara Macias
  • Pos 3: In the only open seat, Valerie Sasson leads Josh Kurchinka by 288 votes
  • Pos 5: Long-time incumbent David Baker leads challenger Jon Culver by 115 votes
  • Pos 7: Challenger Nathan Loutsis leads incumbent Corina Phfeil by 168 votes
Special district elections

Northshore Fire Board of Commissioners (King County Fire Protection District 16)
  • √  Eric Adman, incumbent, no challengers
Shoreline Fire Department
  • Commissioner Pos 1: Barb Sullivan, incumbent, leads challenger Larry Hadland
  • √  Commissioner Position No. 4, David M. Harris, incumbent, no challengers
Lake Forest Park Water District 
  • √  Commissioner Pos No. 1: David A. Hammond, incumbent, no challengers
North City Water District
  • √  Commissioner Pos 1: Ronald F. (Ron) Ricker, incumbent, no challengers
Highlands Sewer District 
  • √  Commissioner Pos 1: L. David Hanower, incumbent, no challengers
Northshore Utility District
  • √ Commissioner Pos 1: Trudy C. Rolla, incumbent, no challengers
  • √  Commissioner Pos 5: Suzanne Greathouse, incumbent, no challengers
  • Commissioner Pos 3:
    • Bruce Gardiner, incumbent 64% of the vote
    • Steve Hamilton, challenger 34%


Post a Comment

We encourage the thoughtful sharing of information and ideas. We expect comments to be civil and respectful, with no personal attacks or offensive language. We reserve the right to delete any comment.

Facebook: Shoreline Area News
Twitter: @ShorelineArea
Daily Email edition (don't forget to respond to the Follow.it email)

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP