State law: Tenants are required to maintain smoke alarms

Wednesday, August 25, 2021

Olympia – In 2020, 59 people lost their lives in residential fires in Washington State. Approximately 72% of those fatalities occurred in homes without working smoke alarms.

The Washington State law clarifies requirements for landlords and tenants when it comes to installing and maintaining smoke alarms in rental properties.

RCW 43.44.110 (3) states that while landlords are required to provide working smoke alarms in a rental unit, tenants are required to maintain the smoke alarm and notify the landlord of any operational defects.

The Washington State Fire Marshal’s Office reminds tenants of the following maintenance steps:
  • Smoke alarms should be tested at least every six months to ensure proper operation.
  • Smoke alarms with 10 year batteries should also be tested at least every six months.
  • If the smoke alarm has replaceable batteries, these should be changed every six months.
  • Smoke alarms older than 10 years of age and/or that fail to respond to testing, should be replaced by the landlord.
  • Follow the manufacturer’s recommendations as necessary.

For more information, contact the State Fire Marshal’s Office at 360-596-3929.



0 comments:

Post a Comment

We encourage the thoughtful sharing of information and ideas. We expect comments to be civil and respectful, with no personal attacks or offensive language. We reserve the right to delete any comment.

ShorelineAreaNews.com
Facebook: Shoreline Area News
Twitter: @ShorelineArea
Daily Email edition (don't forget to respond to the Follow.it email)

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP