Blake Snell accepts Cy Young award

Saturday, February 2, 2019

Blake Snell holding his Cy Young award
Shoreline native and Shorewood baseball star Blake Snell accepted the prestigious 2018 American League Cy Young award at the New York Baseball Writers’ Association annual awards banquet in New York City on January 27, 2019.

Blake, who plays for the Tampa Bay Rays in Florida, thanked the writers and coaching staff in his remarks.

The BBWAA honored outstanding performances from the 2018 season. In addition to the Cy Young, they gave awards for MVP, Rookie of the Year, and Manager of the Year.

Awards are based on ballots cast by two baseball writers in each league city.

The Cy Young is given to the best pitcher in the league for the year. Previous winners include Mariners' Felix Hernandez (2010) and Randy Johnson (1995).


Post a Comment

We encourage the thoughtful sharing of information and ideas. We expect comments to be civil and respectful, with no personal attacks or offensive language. We reserve the right to delete any comment.
Facebook: Shoreline Area News
Twitter: @ShorelineArea
Daily Email edition (don't forget to respond to the FeedBurner email)

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by 2009

Back to TOP