Shorewood wrestling takes the Spartan Cup from cross-town rival Shorecrest

Friday, January 20, 2017

Shorewood wrestling team and coaches
Photo by Tricia Norton

Spartan Cup dual wrestling meet
January 20, 2017 at Shorecrest
Shorewood 59 - Shorecrest 21

Crosstown rivals met at Shorecrest on Friday night to decide who takes home the Spartan Cup this year.

Meridian Park Elementary Wrestling Rhinos
Photo by Tricia Norton

To start the night off the Meridian Park Elementary School Wrestling Rhinos put on an exhibition for the crowd. Coached by PE teacher Matt Alford, the little grapplers showed how much they have learned.

Wrestling Rhinos supervised by Coach Matt Alford
Photo by Tricia Norton

The dual meet started off with a rematch of the 2017 Shoreline Invite finals. Shorecrest's Kaiya Conway controlled Kody Carpenter for most of the match before getting reversed to his back and almost giving up a pin deep into the third round. His lead held and he avoided the pin to stay a perfect 3-0 versus Shorewood wrestlers on the season.

The T-Birds responded with a quick first round pin from Curt Tanaka over Roman Shadduck. Not to be outdone, the Scots responded with a third round pin from Trentyn Good over Richard Street.

From there on it was all T-Birds as the west side grapplers ripped off a technical fall and seven straight pins to seal the match.

The Spartan Cup will stay in the trophy case at Shorewood for another year with the T-Birds beating the Scots 59-21.
T-Birds keep the Spartan Cup
Photo by Tricia Norton

106-Nick Lotz (SW) pinned Chuemsurven Enkhtur 0:23
113-Kaiya Conway (SC) dec Kody Carpenter (SW) 7-5
120-Curt Tanaka (SW) pineed Roman Shadduck (SC) 0:58
126-Trentyn Good (SC) pinned Richard Street (SW) 4:32
132-Devin Leach (SW) tech fall Alyssa Moore (SC) 16-0
138-Tae Thongdee (SW) pinned Connor Block (SC) 2:54
145-Elias Thorne (SW) pinnedKanon Ludwig (SC) 0:33
152-Mark Yamane (SW) pinned Ian Mortensen (SC) 4:53
160-Eddie Soloman (SW) pinned Spencer Loreen (SC) 0:23
170-Esdras Valladares (SW) pinned Michael Borg (SC) 1:30
182-Philip Ball (SW) pinned Raymond Ricketts-Smith (SC) 1:23
195-Troy Beach (SW) pinned Matthew Pease (SC) 0:52
220-Simon Dalton (SC) won by forfeit
285-David Rivera (SC) won by forfeit

Shorewood 59 - Shorecrest 21

--Coach Derek Norton


Post a Comment

We encourage the thoughtful sharing of information and ideas. We expect comments to be civil and respectful, with no personal attacks or offensive language. We reserve the right to delete any comment.
Facebook: Shoreline Area News
Twitter: @ShorelineArea
Daily Email edition (don't forget to respond to the email)

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by 2009

Back to TOP