Shoreline Elementary Student Selected for 2019 AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame

Tuesday, April 30, 2019

Gabrielle Santiago inducted into School Safety
Patrol Hall of Fame

In recognition of her dedication to safety, community stewardship and leadership, local elementary student Gabrielle Santiago, from Echo Lake Elementary, was recently chosen to be inducted into the 2019 AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame. She was one of 10 patrollers honored during a special awards ceremony held before a Seattle Mariners game on Friday, April 26, at T-Mobile Park.

Top ten patrollers and advisor of the year during their on-field recognition before Mariners game

As a long-standing tradition, AAA Washington and a panel of judges from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, the Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction and the Washington Traffic Safety Commission select top patrollers from schools across Washington each year and honor their accomplishments through induction in the AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame.

Patrollers are evaluated and judged on their commitment to traffic safety, citizenship, leadership skills, and contributions to school safety patrol programs. Nominations require input from both the patroller and their advisor, including responses to a series of essay questions. This year, the panel reviewed and evaluated more than 35 nominations to determine the top 10 inductees.

2019 AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame Inductees

Alex Anguiano – Washington Elementary – Wenatchee
Mason Betcher – Southgate Elementary – Kennewick
Audra Findley – Lincoln Elementary – Vancouver
Campbell Finlinson – Forest View Elementary – Everett
Zoe Galbreath – Ritzville Grade School – Ritzville
Aurora Jarvi – Concord International School – Seattle
Charles LaSalle – Moran Prairie Elementary – Spokane
Cecilia Phillips – Hazel Wolf K-8 – Seattle
Gabrielle Santiago – Echo Lake Elementary – Shoreline
Andrew Stach – Oak Harbor Intermediate School – Oak Harbor

From L to R: Chris Reykdal, State Superintendent of Public Instruction; Pam Pannkuk, Deputy Director - Washington Traffic Safety Commission; Gabrielle Santiago, Shoreline – 2019 AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame; Harry Thomas, AAA Washington – Vice President/CEO of Marketing; Mark Owen, Echo Lake Elementary School Safety Patrol Advisor (one of Gabbi’s advisors)

In the speech honoring Gabbi, AAA's Kelly Just said,

“Gabbi made a major safety improvement at her school this year. While on patrol, she noticed how quickly some kids were moving through one courtyard. Their speeds were way too fast for the students with special needs to navigate. 
"So Gabbi created a new post. The student who mans this spot slows down the runners and more aggressive kids, giving those with special needs ample time to safely cross this area. 
"When a student thanked one of her patrol advisors for making advisor for making the change, Mark Owens was quick to point out that this was all Gabbi’s doing. She deserved the gratitude for noticing the problem and finding a remedy."

Lynn Greenwalt, school safety patrol advisor at Ritzville Grade School, was recognized as the eighth annual AAA School Safety Patrol Advisor of the Year.

AAA created the School Safety Patrol almost 100 years ago and partners with local agencies to bring the program to elementary schools across Washington. The AAA School Safety Patrol has been credited with being a major contributor to the substantial reduction in fatalities of school age children (ages 5-14).

AAA Washington has been serving members and the traveling public since 1904.The organization provides a variety of exclusive benefits, including roadside assistance, discounts, maps and personalized trip planning, to its 1,190,000 members. In addition, its full-service travel and insurance agencies provide products and services for members and the public. Additional information is available through the company’s stores in Washington and northern Idaho, at, or by calling 1-800-562-2582.


Post a Comment

We encourage the thoughtful sharing of information and ideas. We expect comments to be civil and respectful, with no personal attacks or offensive language. We reserve the right to delete any comment.
Facebook: Shoreline Area News
Twitter: @ShorelineArea
Daily Email edition (don't forget to respond to the email)

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by 2009

Back to TOP