Local students honored by State PTA Reflections Art contest

Sunday, June 12, 2016

Turtle Bug by Emily diGianni

The PTA Reflections program is a national program with the following mission, "to provide an opportunity for children and youth to use their creative talents by expressing themselves through their own original works."

This year's theme was "Let Your Imagination Fly".

A Secret World Under the Sea
by Emily Wang

Reflections winners from Shoreline Public Schools, including Abbie Krawczyk and Katie Wilcox, whose work will be forwarded to the National PTA competition:

Outstanding Interpretation: Abbie Krawczyk, Ridgecrest (grades 3-5) - "Let Your Imagination Fly"
Award of Merit: Josephine Cunningham, Lake Forest Park (grades PreK-2) - "Beauty"

Music Composition:
Award of Excellence: Benyamin Boujari, Shorewood (grades 9-12) - "Mirage"

Outstanding Interpretation: Katie Wilcox, Ridgecrest (grades 6-8) - "Born of Words"

A Tour of Imagination
by Fred Liu

Visual Arts:
Award of Excellence: Emily diGianni, Shorecrest (grades 9-12) - "Turtle Bug"
Award of Merit: Kayla Telford, Shorecrest (grades 9-12) - "Tuesday After Tea"
Award of Merit: Fred Liu, Einstein (grades 6-8) - "A Tour of Imagination"
Award of Merit: Emily Wang, Meridian Park (grades 3-5) - "A Secret World Under the Sea"

Award recipients were selected from more than 1,100 entries submitted by PTAs all over Washington State. Outstanding Interpretation winners have been forwarded to the National PTA competition and all Outstanding Interpretation, Award of Excellence, and Award of Merit winners will be honored at a ceremony in April.


Julia Heggen June 13, 2016 at 3:31 PM  

These entries are so outstanding. Is there a way to purchase a copy of the art pieces?

Post a Comment

We encourage the thoughtful sharing of information and ideas. We expect comments to be civil and respectful, with no personal attacks or offensive language. We reserve the right to delete any comment.

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP