Evan Smith: 32nd District Democrats vote to back all three incumbents

Friday, April 16, 2010

By Evan Smith
ShorelineAreaNews Politics Writer

The 32nd District Democratic Organization gave approval to all three incumbent District legislators at its nominating convention Wednesday.

District Democratic precinct committee officers voted to nominate Reps. Maralyn Chase and Ruth Kagi and Sen. Darlene Fairley for re-election.

The PCOs voted unanimously to support both Chase and Kagi. A majority voted to designate Fairley as the Party’s nominee despite opposition from PCOs who cited Fairley's support of the top-two primary and noted that she hasn’t participated in Party activities for several years.

Supporters pointed out that Fairley's voting record is identical to Chase's and said that Fairley is a good Democratic voter.

Since the State replaced the partisan primary with the top-two primary, the State hasn't recognized party nominees; State and local party organizations, however, select nominees, who can then promote themselves as recognized party candidates.


Post a Comment

We encourage the thoughtful sharing of information and ideas. We expect comments to be civil and respectful, with no personal attacks or offensive language. We reserve the right to delete any comment.

Facebook: Shoreline Area News
Twitter: @ShorelineArea
Daily Email edition (don't forget to respond to the Follow.it email)

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP