Raves for the 2010 Youth Jam - DC9 Takes Top Honors

Saturday, March 13, 2010

By Scott Becker RBCA Board Member and Man on the Mic
Friday, February 26, was a night to remember as our talented musical youth brought the community together again for the third annual Youth Jam, in the Richmond Beach Congregational Church basement venue. The musical showcase and talent show, sponsored by Richmond Beach Community Association, packed the house as four youth acts performed in turn for the adult judges – volunteers from the regional pro music scene – and the inspired audience of fans, friends, and family.  (photo of final jam session)

The four-group showcase was rounded out by a “judge jam” when the performers were asked to take the stage with the judges for a rowdy and rocking blues tune. Then, the judges took on the difficult task of awarding cash prizes to just two acts, and a celebratory applause and certificate to all the youth who participated. 

DC9, an eight-member modern dance group (pictured, right), was awarded “Best Performance” and a $200 prize. A crowd favorite, DC9 closed the show with a surprise encore of their winning routine.

Oliver Otovsky, solo piano and vocals (pictured, left), received “Honorable Mention – Performance” and a $100 prize.

The three judges represented some of the Seattle area’s more noteworthy working musicians and youth mentors; trumpeter Jason Parker (The Jason Parker Quartet & KPLU DJ), Jeremy Jones (2009 Earshot Jazz award winning drummer of The Teaching), and Jerry Fleet (bassist for Confluence). The judges were lauded by parents for their thoughtful comments to the musicians on stage after each performance, and the encouragement to all kids on hand to keep music and performance a part of their lives.

The acts and musicians in the competition: 

Cardboard Question Mark: Riley Koidahl, Jade Nelson, Forest Clements, and Erin Youell (pictured, right)

Oliver Otovsky: solo

DC9: Dancers - Erika Kent, Cooper Kent, Kenus Vinberg, Zoe Vincini, Nicole Forte, Morgan Thompson, and Max Levin; Choreographers were Drew Thompson, Ryan Chandler, and Terrence Spencer. 

 Misoneism: Julian Anderson and Stefan Petersen (pictured, left)

Photos by Matt Stroud


Post a Comment

We encourage the thoughtful sharing of information and ideas. We expect comments to be civil and respectful, with no personal attacks or offensive language. We reserve the right to delete any comment.

Facebook: Shoreline Area News
Twitter: @ShorelineArea
Daily Email edition (don't forget to respond to the Follow.it email)

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP