Rep. Ryu on Washington Disaster Resiliency work group

Monday, September 9, 2019

Rep. Cindy Ryu D-32
Member of the State Disaster Resilience
Work Group

Washington state Insurance Commissioner Mike Kreidler, chair of the Disaster Resilience Work Group, convened its first meeting on September 5, 2019 in Tumwater.

The keynote speaker was Lt. General Russel L. Honoré, commander of Joint Task Force Katrina and global authority on leadership and emergency preparedness.

The Washington Disaster Resiliency work group, created out of SSB 5106 in 2019, is tasked to review statewide disaster resiliency activities and provide a recommendation by December 2020 to the Legislature and governor on whether Washington should have an ongoing resiliency program.

Kreidler was the prime sponsor of Senate Bill 5106, which passed the House in April 12 with a 95-0 vote and the state Senate with a 48-0 vote. The law took effect on July 28. Sen. David Frockt, D-46 was a sponsor as was Rep. Cindy Ryu, D-32.

Rep. Ryu is a member of the work group.

In addition to bimonthly meetings, the work group has several assignments that, once complete, will inform the final report and recommendations. The 30 members of the work group represent state, local and Tribal governments and the private sector.

Read more about the work group.


Post a Comment

We encourage the thoughtful sharing of information and ideas. We expect comments to be civil and respectful, with no personal attacks or offensive language. We reserve the right to delete any comment.
Facebook: Shoreline Area News
Twitter: @ShorelineArea
Daily Email edition (don't forget to respond to the email)

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by 2009

Back to TOP