A packed house for the Einstein - Kellogg wrestling match

Friday, March 25, 2016

It was a packed house Thursday as the Einstein Tigers hosted the Kellogg Knights in the final match of the regular season.

Einstein got off to a good start with 7th graders Josh Fahey and Connor McGarey pinning their opponents at 88 and 93lbs for a 12-4 team lead.

Kellogg took the next two weights and held a 16-12 lead going into the much anticipated match at 108lbs between reigning District Champion Kody Carpenter of Einstein and undefeated Knight Kaiya Conway. Both wrestlers struggled to get any offense on their feet. Conway secured the first takedown with twenty seconds left in the first period and quickly put turned Carpenter over with a three-quarter nelson for the pin and a 10 point Kellogg lead.

At 113lbs Tiger Ian Paulson stepped into the varsity line-up for only the second time all season and gutted out a tough three round 16-9 decision. Sparked by Paulson's win the Tigers got four pins in a row from Curt Tanaka, Devin Leach, Austin Newman, and Ryan Araujo for a 39-22 lead. That quartet has been dominant all season and have a combined record of 31-2 with 26 pins.

Einstein would widen their lead to 54-34 thanks to a huge pin by Deshawn Alexander, who bumped up to 167lbs, and a narrow 5-3 victory from Taejin Thongdee at 178lbs. Alexander, along with teammates Curt Tanaka, Devin Leach, and Terrill Martinez, finished the regular season undefeated.  

A pin by Tom Bert at 218lbs and Luke Hohenstein receiving a forfeit at 278lbs gave Einstein the final score victory of 66-40.  This is the third year in a row the Tigers have defeated their rivals from the east side.

Einstein wrestles next on Tuesday, March 29th, in the Varsity Tournament hosted by Jackson High School. Wrestling is scheduled to begin at 4pm.

Einstein Record: 7-2 Overall

Einstein 66 - Kellogg 40
At Einstein Middle School

81: Rowan Schweedler (KEL) maj. dec. Owen Curtiss-Knox 10-0
88: Josh Fahey (EIN) pinned Sean Taylor 1:04
93: Connor McGarey (EIN) pinned Caetano Yuyama 0:40
98: Iliana Gonzalez (KEL) win by forfeit
103: Simon DeVos (KEL) pinned Marcus Turner 0:58
108: Kaiya Conway (KEL) pinned Kody Carpenter 1:21
113: Ian Paulson (EIN) dec. Logan Onyon 16-9
118: Curt Tanaka (EIN) pinned Samira Woods 0:18
123: Devin Leach (EIN) pinned Matthew Woods 0:23
128: Austin Newman (EIN) pinned Satchel McKee 2:29
133: Ryan Araujo (EIN) pinned Trentyn Good 2:43
140: Emmett Mueller (KEL) pinned Norman Bada 2:20
148: Terrill Martinez (EIN) win by forfeit
157: Xavier Ljubicich (KEL) pinned Christoph Wiehle 0:55
167: Deshawn Alexander (EIN) pinned Calvin Hodges 2:32
178: Taejin Thongdee (EIN) dec. Michael Crosson 5-3
188: Jack Burns (KEL) win by forfeit
218: Tom Bert (EIN) pinned Isaiah Stephens 0:33
248: Double Forfeit
278: Luke Hohenstein (EIN) win by forfeit

--Clark Norton


Post a Comment

We encourage the thoughtful sharing of information and ideas. We expect comments to be civil and respectful, with no personal attacks or offensive language. We reserve the right to delete any comment.

Facebook: Shoreline Area News
Twitter: @ShorelineArea
Daily Email edition (don't forget to respond to the FeedBurner email)

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP