Shorewood, Shorecrest tennis players in Northwest District tournament Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday

Sunday, October 23, 2011

Shorewood Tennis is undefeated. (click to enlarge)

The Shorewood boys' tennis team qualified two doubles teams and one singles player for the Northwest District tournament Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday at Mount Vernon High School, and Shorecrest qualified a singles player and a doubles team.

Juan Ramirez of Shorecrest won the Wesco 3A singles championship, and Hunter Nelson and Miles Jamieson of Shorewood won the doubles championship at Jackson High School in Mill Creek Oct. 18-20, defeating their Meadowdale opponents in straight sets. Nishaant Limaye and Chris Sato of Shorecrest placed fourth in doubles, and Trevor Cronin and Isaac Brengelmann of Shorewood rallied to take fifth in doubles to move on to next week's tournament. Justin Oh of Shorewood also qualified for the District tournament after reaching the other semifinals.

When the District tournament opens Tuesday, Ramirez will meet a Meadowdale player and Oh will meet a Mount Vernon player in the first round of singles play. If both win or both lose, the two could meet in the semifinals later in the day. Nelson and Jamieson will meet a Mountlake Terrace doubles team, Cronin and Brengelmann will play a Meadowdale team, and Limaye and Sato will meet a Ferndale team.

Shorewood coach Arnie Moreno says that his team will be one of the favorites going into the District tournament.

The Shorecrest team finished the dual-meet season tied for second place with Meadowdale behind undefeated Shorewood

Wesco 3A Tournament
At Jackson H.S.


First round—
Juan Ramirez (SC) beat Rumsey (MG) 6-0, 6-0
Justin Oh (SW) beat Luong Hau (Ev) 6-1, 6-1
David Lyons (SC) beat Clausen (MG) 6-1, 6-0
BNguyen (Mead) beat Liam Keebler (SW) 6-1, 6-0

Juan Ramirez (SC) beat Moya (L) 6-0, 6-0
Justin Oh (SW) beat Ekern (Me) 6-3, 6-2
Soelling (Ev) beat David Lyons (SC) 6-1, 6-0

Semifinals — Juan Ramirez, SC, beat Justin Oh, SW, 6-4, 6-0; Soelling, Ev, beat Mozlowski, GP, 6-3, 6-4.

1st-2nd — Juan Ramirez, SC, beat Soelling, Ev, 6-3, 6-2.


First round—
Hunter Nelson-Miles Jamieson (SW) beat Nguyen-Neri (MT) 6-0, 6-0
Nishaant Limaye-Chris Sato (SC) beat Tsuji-Pham (Ly) 6-4, 6-2
Trevor Cronin-Isaac Brengelmann (SW) beat Linder-Remlinger (GP) 6-0, 6-2
Skylar Shibayama-Andrew Copsey (SC) beat Rasmussen-Tuemmler (MG) 6-4, 6-2;

Hunter Nelson-Miles Jamieson (SW) beat Holton-Young (Me) 6-0, 6-0;
Luangrath-Hill (GP) beat Limaye-Sato (SC) 4-6, 6-4, 6-2
Devries-Fijalka (Me) beat Cronin-Brengelmann (SW) 2-6, 6-4, 6-2
Kim-Milner (MT) beat Shibayama-Copsey (SC) 6-4, 5-7, 6-1.

Semifinals — Hunter Nelson-Miles Jamieson, SW, beat Luangrath-Hill, GP, 4-6, 6-4, 6-2; Devries-Fijalka, Meadowdale, beat Kim-Milner, MT, 6-4, 6-3.

1st-2nd — Hunter Nelson-Miles Jamieson, SW, beat Devries-Fijalka, Mead, 6-4, 6-3.
3rd — Luangrath-Hill, Glacier Peak
4th — Nishaant Limaye-Chris Sato, SC

Wesco 3A Varsity Dual-meet Tennis Standings


Post a Comment

We encourage the thoughtful sharing of information and ideas. We expect comments to be civil and respectful, with no personal attacks or offensive language. We reserve the right to delete any comment.

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by 2009

Back to TOP