LFP man named Pharmacist of the Year by state association

Monday, October 31, 2011

The Washington State Pharmacy Association (WSPA) announced its 2011 awards winners, "who underscore WSPA’s commitment to the quality of care." The winners were recognized at an awards dinner October 22, 2011 during the 2011 WSPA Annual Meeting in Tacoma, Washington.

“This year's award winners span a remarkable breadth of achievement in innovation, research, education, leadership, and accomplishment," said Jeff Rochon, WSPA chief executive officer. "We're very proud to recognize excellence in all of these areas of endeavor, and hope that the example of these remarkable individuals will inspire others.”

Chuck Paulsen, R.Ph
WSPA Pharmacist of the Year
Chuck Paulsen R.Ph. of Lake Forest Park was named 2011 Pharmacist of the Year.

The Pharmacist of the Year Award honors pharmacists who possess qualities of excellence in routine practice and association activities, is an exemplary role model, and who has contributed to the service and skill of WSPA during the past year.

Once the owner of two independent pharmacies and currently the Senior Director of Pharmacy at QFC, Chuck has actively dedicated his time to the improvement of the profession. Under Chuck’s leadership, the QFC pharmacy team expanded pharmacy services to include the expansion of immunizations, MTM, and health screenings, just to name a few. He also oversaw and introduced an internship program and a community pharmacy residency program.

Chuck joined the WSPA in 1997 and has been actively involved ever since. Currently the chair of the Washington State Pharmacy Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Council (LRAC) Steering Committee, Chuck volunteers a tremendous number of hours to the pharmacy profession in Washington state through the on-going influence of LRAC. He also serves on the Washington Recovery Assistance Program for Pharmacy (WRAPP) Advisory Board and the King County Public Health Community Pharmacy Advisory Committee. In the past, Chuck has served on the WSPA Board as secretary/treasurer and on the WSPA/DSHS Third Party Committee.

Chuck is a community leader as well. He currently serves on the Lake Forest Park Planning Commission and the City’s 100 Year Legacy planning vision task force. He has served on the City’s Financial Futures task force and is a member of Rotary. And not only does he encourage pharmacists to run for public office, but he is leading by example as he is running for the Lake Forest Park City Council.

Other awards:
  • Bowl of Hygeia Award: Robert Slagle, R.Ph. (Republic, WA)
  • Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award: Brandy Singer, R.Ph. (Spokane, WA)
  • Pfizer Health System Pharmacist of the Year: Roger A. Woolf, Pharm.D. (Seattle, WA)
  • Bill Mueller Outstanding Mentor Award: Nanci Murphy, Pharm.D., R.Ph. (Seattle, WA)
  • David Almquist Award: Angela Stewart, Pharm.D. (Yakima, WA)
  • Rod D. Shafer Award: Bill Fassett, Ph.D., R.Ph. (Spokane, WA)
  • Distinguished Leadership Service Award: Dan Connolly, R.Ph. (Seattle, WA)
  • Pharmacist Mutual Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year Award: Dawn Ipsen, Pharm.D. (Snohomish, WA)
  • Pharmacy Student of the Year: Karen Craddick (Seattle, WA)
  • Outstanding Pharmacy Technician of the Year Award: Sandi Tschritter, CPhT (Spokane, WA)
  • Cardinal Health Generations RX Award: Michaelene Kedzierski, R.Ph., CDP (Seattle, WA)


Post a Comment

We encourage the thoughtful sharing of information and ideas. We expect comments to be civil and respectful, with no personal attacks or offensive language. We reserve the right to delete any comment.

Facebook: Shoreline Area News
Twitter: @ShorelineArea
Daily Email edition (don't forget to respond to the Follow.it email)

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP