Shoreline Dollars For Scholars Gives Out 10 Scholarships To Local Students

Tuesday, May 24, 2011

Dollars for Scholars Scholarship winners 2011

By Douglas W. Palmer, President Shoreline Dollars for Scholars

The Shoreline Chamber of Commerce, through its Dollars for Scholars program, gave out ten scholarships to local Shoreline students on May 18, 2011 at Shoreline Community College during a reception in the Quiet Dining Room in the Student Activity Center (PUB).

The winning students were:
  • Shayla Allen    Shorewood
  • Mackenzie Bang    Shorewood
  • Sorcha Connor-Boyle    Shorewood
  • Olivia LaFond    Shorecrest
  • Clara Lam    Shorewood
  • David Leathers    Shorecrest
  • Preston Luong    Shorecrest
  • Melissa Ruhlman    Shorecrest
  • Lisa Santroch    Shorewood
  • Sara Vasquez    Holy Names (Shoreline resident)

The students were judged on their academic standing and co-curricular activities/volunteerism plus recommendations from teachers, counselors and other school personnel. You must attend Shoreline community school or be a resident of Shoreline to win a scholarship.

Preston Luong Receives Award from Jeff King and Doug Palmer
Carter Subaru was named a Premier Sponsor for the event as they donated $5000 to the Dollars for Scholars program for a second consecutive year. A plaque was presented in their honor for their support of local students and education.

At the event, Lee Lambert, President of Shoreline Community College and Sue Walker, Superintendent of the Shoreline School District, gave welcomes to the students. Dr. Tonya Drake, Vice President of Student Success at SCC, gave a short talk on “Student Success” at today’s colleges. 

Clara Lam walks up to receive her award
The students were presented their awards by Jeff King, President of the Shoreline Chamber of Commerce and Doug Palmer, President of the Shoreline Dollars for Scholars. Student introductions were read by Diana Stevens, former Chamber Board member.

Shoreline City Manager, Julie Underwood, and Shoreline City Council Members, Will Hall (Deputy Mayor) and Shari Winstead were in attendance along with Shoreline School Board members, Debi Ehrlichman and David Wilson.

The Shoreline Dollars for Scholars program has awarded over 100 scholarships in the past 8 years to local Shoreline students for use at the college of their choice.


Post a Comment

We encourage the thoughtful sharing of information and ideas. We expect comments to be civil and respectful, with no personal attacks or offensive language. We reserve the right to delete any comment.
Facebook: Shoreline Area News
Twitter: @ShorelineArea
Daily Email edition (don't forget to respond to the FeedBurner email)

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by 2009

Back to TOP