Shorewood cross country does well at Nike Pre-Nationals at Portland Meadows

Monday, September 29, 2014

Shorewood Cross Country competed this past Saturday (9/27) in Portland, OR in the prestigious Nike Pre-Nationals Meet held at Portland Meadows. The top five varsity teams are awarded plaques and the top 50 runners in each race receive a medal.

There are three varsity divisions and an elite championship division. There are also several levels of JV races. Most races are 5000 meters. Teams from all over the west coast and sometimes teams from farther away like Colorado and Kentucky come to compete. This year was no different with elite teams from California and Arizona.

Shorewood brought 57 athletes to the meet. Shorewood had an outstanding showing bringing home 2 plaques, 17 medals, and 38 athletes set new personal best times (personal record - PR) with 11 more running a new seasons best time (SB).

Shorewood boys varsity placed 2nd among 21 teams with Andrew Christianson (SB), Cameron Sanders, Shane Peterson (PR), and Chris Gerbino (SB) winning medals and Devan Kirk (PR), Aaron Rainboth (SB), and Siem Hailai (PR) also running varsity. There were 151 runners in this race.  

Shorewood girls varsity placed 3rd among 25 teams with Brianna McGrath (PR), Ellie Shoop (PR), Rachel Hansen (PR), and Elizabeth Lapham (SB) winning medals and Emily Farden (PR), Phoebe Crampton-Haywood (SB), and Amanda McMillan (PR) also running varsity. There were 178 runners in this race.

In the boys freshman JV race Matthew McMillan (PR) won a medal and there were 240 runners in this race. The freshman boys placed 9th out of 22. All freshman boys set new personal bests, Jack Parkinson, Tuguldor Myagmarsuren, Alex Tong, Jay Won, Kenassa Sarka, Ben Korn, Spencer Lu, and Henry Ha.

In the sophomore boys JV race Patrick Antush (PR), Kyan Feller, and Fidel Chishungu (PR) won medals in a field of 202 runners. The sophomore boys placed 9th out of 18 teams. Other sophomores were Tae Thongdee (SB), Allen Saewong (PR), Thomas Neufeldt (SB), Bjorn Kalvoy (SB), and Senay Hailai (PR).

In the boys junior/senior JV race Jared Hanson (PR), Jun Won (PR), Liam Gleeson (PR), and Declan Andrews (PR) won medals in a field of 228 runners. The senior boys placed 6th out of 21 teams. Spencer Westmoreland (PR), Connor Elvrum (PR), Luke Ryder (SB), and Peter Moore (SB).

In the girls freshman/sophomore JV race girls who set new personal bests included, Elisha Klco, Rachel Neroutsos, Erin McConnachie, Rebecca Martinez, Kimi Hamon, Morgan McCurdy, and Olivia White. This race included 202 runners. The girls placed 12th out of 16.

In the girls junior/senior JV race Alison Feise (PR) won a medal. Myung Thongdee (PR), Gayle Chan (SB), and Ally Thomas (PR). There were 126 runners competing in the race.

In a novice race of 3000 meters Spencer McCuistion set a new personal best.

Teams receive scores if they have five or more runners. Varsity races in this meet are limited to seven runners. The place of the runner is the points that goes towards the team score. The top five runners points are added together for a team score. The lower the score the better (like golf).


Post a Comment

We encourage the thoughtful sharing of information and ideas. We expect comments to be civil and respectful, with no personal attacks or offensive language. We reserve the right to delete any comment.
Facebook: Shoreline Area News
Twitter: @ShorelineArea
Daily Email edition (don't forget to respond to the FeedBurner email)

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by 2009

Back to TOP