Book Review by Aarene Storms: The Aviary

Monday, January 28, 2013

The Aviary by Kathleen O'Dell
11-year-old Clara leads a sheltered life in the crumbling Glendoveer mansion, where she lives with her mother, the cook, elderly Mrs Glendoveer, and a cage full of exotic birds. Nothing exciting has ever happened to Clara. In fact, nothing interesting has ever happened to her until a new girl moves to the neighborhood, Clara begins to question her mother about their lives before coming to the mansion, and the birds begin to speak.

An old family mystery, a mesmerist with kind words and bad intentions, and a bit of magic--stage magic and the real kind--keep the pages turning on this sweet, shivery story. No cussing or kissing; some tame off-stage violence.

Rating:
Recommended for readers who enjoy books like Inkheart, The Penderwicks, and other tales of girls and mysteries and magic, ages 8 to adult.


The events may not have happened; still, the story is true. --R. Silvern

Aarene Storms, youth services librarian
Richmond Beach Library, KCLS


0 comments:

Post a Comment

We encourage the thoughtful sharing of information and ideas. We expect comments to be civil and respectful, with no personal attacks or offensive language. We reserve the right to delete any comment.

  © Blogger template The Professional Template II by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP